Word of the Day: Feminine

Feminine

fem·i·nine (fm-nn)
adj.
1. Of or relating to women or girls. See Synonyms at female.
2. Characterized by or possessing qualities generally attributed to a woman.
3. Effeminate; womanish.
4. Grammar Designating or belonging to the gender of words or grammatical forms that refer chiefly to females or to things classified as female.
n. Grammar
1. The feminine gender.
2. A word or form belonging to the feminine gender.

***
I don’t spend a whole lot of time doing girly things. I mean, I go shopping and I talk about guys, but I don’t do it a whole lot. My friends and I are primarily geeks so it’s a different breed of female…at least in my mind it is.

But last night I went over to see a friend of mine who isn’t a geek. She’s a plain ol’ regular girl. And it was fun. For once I was giggly and talking about how she should date this guy and not this guy. About how her ex was a dick. About how she’s awesome and should take time getting to know the really attractive guy who actually knows how to talk. It was nice. And she even straightened my hair! Super awesome.

And I think every once in a while it’s good to do these things. It’s good to spend an evening just talking and being a girl. And yes, I am a girl no matter what, and I’m not in many ways a Tom Boy, but sometimes I just don’t feel like a girl. So it’s good, and it’s awesome, and I’m happy. It’s good to surround yourself with all sorts. Variety is the spice of life.

Say Anything